Salt Lake City, Utah – part 3

Fun stuff and Food!

Salt Lake City, Utah

After skiing at Brighton, we went to the Midway Ice Castle which was really fun! It was way bigger than I expected and there was a lot to look at and a ton of photo opportunities. There was a slide (which we waited in line for forever), tunnels, huts, a throne, a fountain, and a snack shop. And of course, lots of really neat ice formations.

We had also planned to go to the Axe Arena after skiing at Alta, but they were closed for an employee outing. Thankfully, we were able to squeeze it in Saturday morning before we had to leave to catch our plane. It was a lot of fun and fairly difficult! We had the place to ourselves for most of the morning, and the hour goes by fairly quickly. It’s a good challenge and a pretty good arm workout too!

Some notable food/restaurants I have to mention quickly:

J Dawgs. Their menu is so simple. It’s awesome. You choose a dawg, polish or beef. Choose if you want chips/drink/combo. Then the toppings for the dawg. That’s it. The dawg was really tasty and their special sauce was very good. It’s a sweet-spicy flavor, so think brown sugar/chili powder/BBQ/Ketchup. They’re fairly large so one dawg was enough to fill me up, Jacob ate two and was almost full. (It takes so much food to actually fill him up)

Chip Cookies. It was Jacob’s birthday while we were out in Utah so our hosts celebrated with cookies. These cookies are massive and taste amazing. They got both the hot cocoa cookies and the traditional chocolate chip. I tried both and couldn’t pick a favorite. I just discovered they DO ship to Indiana, however, I’m cheap and don’t want to pay $15 in shipping for $10 worth of cookies. But it’s very tempting.

Bruges Waffles. This place was so good. Little and unique, with amazing food. I’ve never had chicken and waffles before, and they had to convince me to get it, but I’m so glad I did. It was so good. I didn’t think the sweet of waffle/syrup/cream would go well with fried chicken strips. I was wrong. It was amazing. Plus the presentation was adorable, it actually looked like a chicken. Also, the cashier was super nice and since we paid for our hosts breakfast, he gave us our coffee free. He said, and I quote- “You got them, I got you.” We also tried their frites and fry sauce which was also very good. A little strange at first, but I ended up really liking it.

Leave a comment